Day 3 Love is Christ’s Gift of Atonement Turning Away God’s Wrath

This is my third blog post for the Write 31 Days challenge, which I signed up to four days late.

Romans 3: 23- 26 (NIV)
for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God,
and are justified freely by his grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus. God presented him as a sacrifice of atonement, through faith in his blood. He did this to demonstrate his justice, because in his forbearance he had left the sins committed beforehand unpunished– he did it to demonstrate his justice at the present time, so as to be just and the one who justifies those who have faith in Jesus.

When I returned home, grieving the passing of my Mom, my heart yearned after the Peace I had felt cover my Mum through her suffering. But for me to even consider the possibility that God could offer me this peace, my mind and heart had to reckon with  the fear of God’s wrath that had hounded me since a child.

In my deep yearning, I turned to Christian authors, who spoke of God’s grace. The very first book I opened, was Steve McVey’s The Secret of Grace.  As I turned the pages of this book, tears flowed relentlessly down my face. Page after page assured me that the wrath of God was set aside at the Cross through the sacrifice of Jesus Christ for all those who believe in Him. McVey illustrated with Scripture after Scripture that I was incapable of living free of sin and that God was not after my good works, but after an intimate relationship with me, a relationship through which His good works would flow out of me, despite my weaknesses and failures.

This gift of grace staggered me. God was beginning to loosen the shackles of fear that had kept me from His gift of grace  for more than twenty years.

The next step on my journey into His Love would lead me from the gift of grace to a growing understanding of a Home, whose doors had been swung wide open to welcome me in. And as this understanding unfolded, both in my mind and my heart, it would birth a powerful process of transformation. As McVey so aptly puts it:

“God is sovereign over the enemy, and He will use your pain to accomplish His purposes. God will use the desert experiences of life to shake away from us everything except Him.” (The Secret of Grace, p.31)

And use my pain He would, to draw me ever closer into His powerful all-embracing Love.

2 thoughts on “Day 3 Love is Christ’s Gift of Atonement Turning Away God’s Wrath

  1. “God is sovereign over the enemy, and He will use your pain to accomplish His purposes. God will use the desert experiences of life to shake away from us everything except Him.”

    I have found those words to be abundantly true for me the past several years. I blogged recently about my desert time this past year and the wonderful work God did in my life during it. He is able to do abundantly above all we ask or imagine!

    Like

    1. Just realized that I never responded to this comment of yours. I’m sorry! Isn’t it wonderful how God draws us close to Him in the hardest times?! Will have to take a look at what you shared about your desert time.

      Like

Comments are closed.