Weary of Human Voices: Five Minute Friday

This post was written for the Five Minute Friday Link-Up.

Matthew 11:28-30 The Message (MSG)

Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”

Weary: the Five-Minute-Friday word for today. How appropriate. I’ve just returned from a run, reflecting on this weariness within me. Yes, lack of sleep doesn’t help, but in reading the verse above I’m able to locate a greater weariness within. A weariness of human voices, of loud voices telling me what to think, believe and do as a woman of faith.

Returning to faith, I’m parched for more. I yearn after true fellowship, encouragement, direction. And yet I’ve found myself wearied by this search for human direction, as one person says one thing, another the opposite and still another chooses silence. And then I pull back to read what God says. I read the verse above and I feel the burden of what I am not called to carry.

“Walk with me” He says. “Learn the unforced rhythms of grace.” And when I read His Word, it quenches. Yesterday, Psalm 77: “Yes, Anna, voice your doubts, voice your anger, say that you don’t even fully understand what’s bothering you. Then, look up and behold Me. And know that I know and I feel and I will guide you through the anger, the ache, the loneliness, the grief you cannot express. Trust me. I am here, beside you.”

Psalm 77: 20 “Hidden in the hands of Moses and Aaron, You led your people like a flock of sheep.” And you will lead me too, even now.

If you’re feeling weary like me, come join me in worshipping the Only One who can satisfy with Come Sit Down, by Big Daddy Weave.

15 thoughts on “Weary of Human Voices: Five Minute Friday

  1. Your words echo what most of us feel deep inside. Thanks for sharing them! This prompt also reminded me that when I am weary I can only find true rest in Jesus.

    Have a wonderful weekend my friend!

    Like

  2. Hi Anna, let your heart rest in Him…
    There are times when only God can be the source of real encouragement, people may not be exactly what you need at those times.
    Gal I have been there…You will come out of it sooner than you think because God is trying to tech you something.Oh Yes! I have learnt to watch for the lessons He is drawing my attention to…
    Wait for it…
    It is coming…
    When He says wait and be quiet, God means it!
    He sees your heart, Anna By His Grace you will break through..
    Hanging there.
    Love you loads.
    God Bless

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Ifeoma. Yes, there’s always a lesson in it. In turning away from the noise to our Source of Peace, I’ve felt a burden lift already. But I know there’s more, but more that can only now slowly surface with the noise (I’ve let in) ceasing.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. So funny as I often weary of hearing human voices as well 🙂 I have come to realize how much we need the stillness, the quiet in order to hear the One Voice we truly need to hear. Stopping by from FMF. I think this was my first time here so, “Nice to meet you!” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nice to meet you too, Joanne. It’s my first time linking up. I only started blogging a month ago to do the Write 31 Days challenge.

      Oh yes, we truly do. And His is the Only Voice that truly quenches our thirst. I’m missing my quiet mornings (my daughter’s been getting up an hour earlier) and was truly blessed by time alone in the forest this morning.

      Like

  4. Anna, first of all, wow! You started blogging on the 31-day write?! You’re a brave, amazing woman. 🙂

    This is such a great post today. It’s so easy to listen to human voices and forget to be listening for God’s words on the matter. I love that we love a God who isn’t afraid of our anger, our doubts and confusion. He welcomes us to Him so we can hear His life-giving, eternal truths.

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog! I’m so glad you did.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Jeanne. It was scary, yes…but the persistent nudgings wouldn’t let up! I’m glad I followed them, as it’s been an amazing experience so far.

      I love that we have that kind of God too. He is so patient and gentle…and yes, points us to His eternal life-giving truth.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It was a beautiful post and good to read, reminding me of the blessings in my life. Thanks for visiting. Peace and hope: exactly what we need (isn’t it?!) and our God so graciously provides.

      Like

    1. Praying His peace upon you, as you rest and prepare your heart for tomorrow.

      Romans 8 : 38 – 39
      For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.