A Season of Promise

This post has been written for the Five Minute Friday prompt “Season”:

 

For me this season is one of promise, of hope, of life to come. When I run in the forest my eyes wander to the leaves on the ground, the colours of an autumn spent and yet also of a spring to come, speaking of both death and life intertwined. In returning to the LORD last year, I’ve begun to see His Promises unfolding in the changing of the seasons.

It’s as if I hear Him whispering in the winds not to lose hope, to remember that though we cannot see it, there is life growing in the darkness, preparing to burst forth in colour come spring.

And I feel Him calling me to rest, lay down and rest my head on His strong shoulders. To let Him sustain and strengthen me in the waiting. The coming of winter is a time for renewal, for a growing beneath the surface, for a rooting in His Love. And for holding onto His Promises of this season (Psalm 147: 17 – 18, The Message):

who can survive his winter?

Then he gives the command and it all melts; he breathes on winter—suddenly it’s spring!

 

11 thoughts on “A Season of Promise

  1. Love this: “there is life growing in the darkness, preparing to burst forth in colour come spring.” Beautiful. Thank you for this picture. Similarly, I often feel God inviting me to rest my head on his chest. He loves us so. #evergrateful & thank you for stopping by my blog

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful thoughts. I’ve found myself dreading the coming cold winter. I’m also approaching a very challenging time in my life. These words are comforting. Thankful that you’re turning toward the Lord in new ways. That, in itself, is beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Anna, I loved your post. And this: “It’s as if I hear Him whispering in the winds not to lose hope, to remember that though we cannot see it, there is life growing in the darkness, preparing to burst forth in colour come spring.” There’s such hope in these words. I needed to read them today.

    Like

Comments are closed.