Choose: Reflections in Wonder

This post is linked up to Holley Gerth’s Coffee for Your Heart:

At the end of last year, I asked God to give me a word to focus on in my year to come. The word that came was “choose”. Little did I know just how powerfully God would transform me through all the choices He equipped, strengthened and guided me for and into.

In 2015, I would:

  • choose to rejoice when my heart was heavy with deep grief, sticking this Scripture to my fridge and repeatedly listening to and singing a song based on it:

Habakkuk 3: 17 – 19

Though the cherry trees don’t blossom
    and the strawberries don’t ripen,
Though the apples are worm-eaten
    and the wheat fields stunted,
Though the sheep pens are sheepless
    and the cattle barns empty,
I’m singing joyful praise to God.
    I’m turning cartwheels of joy to my Savior God.
Counting on God’s Rule to prevail,
    I take heart and gain strength.
I run like a deer.
    I feel like I’m king of the mountain!

20151120_133947

FB Profile

20151219_214505

And in each and every choice I have made this year, I’ve been led into a deeper and deeper trust. I have and continue to witness the Love, Power, Hope, Life, Peace, Joy and utter Majesty of a God, who (Isaiah 30 : 18, Amplified Version):

[earnestly] waits [expecting, looking, and longing] to be gracious to you; and therefore He lifts Himself up, that He may have mercy on you and show loving-kindness to you

And in this leaning into my Lord and Saviour, He is opening my eyes more and more to behold Him in wonder and belief. So, as this New Year dawns, my heart yearns to look at the world around me in expectant wonder, to see God’s goodness right before me in any and every circumstance of life, to follow His call into blessing, also recorded in Isaiah 30 : 18 ( Amplified Version):

… Blessed (happy, fortunate, to be envied) are all those who [earnestly] wait for Him, who expect and look and long for Him…

20151224_174406

So, tomorrow, I will share more of this call to expectant wonder, in reflecting on my One Word for 2016: BEHOLD. But before I do so, I hope you will join me in praising God for all that He is, has been and will forever be.

6 thoughts on “Choose: Reflections in Wonder

    1. Andrew, I don’t feel like a hero, although I guess we all become heroes as His Power unfolds within us and through us. Your story continues to bless me powerfully, as you’ve opened my eyes further in wonder at the powerful Presence of God in the depths of our suffering. Praying for you and Barbara.

      Like

      1. My dear Anna…when I read your post, I was – and am – dealing with a level of pain and fear that I had not experienced before…and your words brought comfort, and peace, and grace. You are indeed a hero.

        You have endured so much, and while I know – too well – that faith can tremble, you nonetheless bear witness to God’s love and care and mercy.

        I thank God for you. You are a hero. You are MY hero.

        Like

      2. Oh Andrew,how blessed I am to read how God has timed, shaped and infused the words I posted to shower His Love upon you. My heart sings in praise. Thank you Lord for holding Andrew and Barbara in the palm of your hand, for walking behind and before them, for never, ever leaving or forsaking them.

        Like

  1. My dear, sweet friend- This brings so much joy to my heart to see what God not only continues to do for you, but also how he continues to use you for HIS glory- Thank you for being a blessing- Love you!

    Like

Comments are closed.