Behold: Joyful, Expectant Looking

This post is linked up to Bonnie Gray’s #OneWordCoffee:

Proverbs 29: 18 ( The Message)
If people can’t see what God is doing,
they stumble all over themselves;
But when they attend to what He reveals,
they are most blessed.

My One Word for 2015, “choose” has led me deeper and deeper into awestruck wonder at our awesome God, as choosing to walk the path He has placed before me has shown me that no matter the circumstance, He is always and ever present. And it is this Scriptural promise and increasing experiential truth that has me yearning for eyes that open much wider in expectant wonder and belief in the year to come.

20151224_174128

So, my One Word for 2016 is BEHOLD:

To “behold” means to “see, to view, to face, to look out, regard, watch, consider, to behold intensely, to observe fully, to see mentally or prophetically, to look with attention and earnestness, to survey with accuracy, earnest spiritual contemplation, to look at purposely, to perceive, apprehend, learn, know, calling attention to what may be seen or heard.”

Rodney Francis, Barnabas Bulletin ~ 0037

In Matthew 28: 20 (ESV) Jesus promises us:

And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age

If we “open [y]our eyes in wonder and belief” (Matthew 6 : 22), if we behold that before us with His Eyes of Truth, equipped with His Word, we will see this promise break open. The darkness of this broken world that threatens to consume us will cower at the majesty of Our Mighty, Mighty God, as His Light fills us to overflowing. And so, my prayer is that in every little and big thing before me in this year to come, I will behold Him, I will joyfully and expectantly look upon His Face.

20151221_132452

  • When impatience threatens to take hold of me, let me look into my children’s eyes and see the One who made them in His beautiful image, let my heart be stilled to hear Him singing with delight over them, to slow to embrace them in His Grace.
  • When my mouth opens to complain, let my eyes behold His gifts of grace upon grace upon grace and rejoice in His eternal Love and faithfulness.
  • When my heart aches, as grief threatens to consume, let me behold His Loving Arms wrapping around me, let my soul quiet to hear Him singing over me, blanketing me in His joy-giving warmth. Let me behold Him in creation and rejoice in His Presence.
  • When fear threatens to multiply within me, let me behold His many consolations and His Promise: “Behold, I have given you authority to tread on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy, and nothing shall hurt you.” (Luke 10: 19, ESV) and rejoice in the Victory of the LORD.
  • When I no longer know where to place my feet, let me behold the wisdom of His Word and prayerfully seek His Face.
  • When shame pulls me into hiding, let me behold His powerful grace, let me see the Love He is holding out to me as He keeps chasing me with His beauty  (Psalm 23, The Message).
  • When my eyes begin to close in greed and distrust, let me behold the world around me with His Eyes of Pained Love and let me answer His call to be His servant among a hurting and broken people.
  • When I begin to turn to others for love and approval, rather than God, let me behold His Majesty and be reminded that Jesus has already pre-approved me at the Cross. Let me behold Him in Love, seeking after His Way, Truth and Life.

And as I behold my Lord and Saviour, as I look upon Him in joyful anticipation, let my eyes open to see Him doing a new thing within and around me (Isaiah 43: 19), even in the deepest, darkest circumstances of life:

“Behold, I will do something new, Now it will spring forth; Will you not be aware of it? I will even make a roadway in the wilderness, Rivers in the desert.

Verse 1
Grand earth has quaked before
Moved by the sound of His voice
Seas that are shaken and stirred
Can be calmed and broken for my regard

Chorus
And through it all, through it all
My eyes are on You
And through it all, through it all
It is well

And through it all, through it all
My eyes are on You
And it is well

Verse 2
Far be it from me to not believe
Even when my eyes can’t see

And this mountain that’s in front of me
Will be thrown into the midst of the sea

Chorus
Through it all, through it all
My eyes are on You
Through it all, through it all
It is well

Bridge x3
So let go my soul and trust in Him
The waves and wind still know His name(repeat last line during 3rd run)

It is well with my soul
It is well with my soul
It is well with my soul
It is well with my soul

It is well it is well with my soul x3
ahhhhhhh (softly)

Chorus x2-3 (softly slowly)
Through it all, through it all
My eyes are on You Lord
Through it all, through it all
It is well with me.

Would you like to connect via Facebook? I’ve opened a new page – Joy of the Spirit Within – to encourage each other in our faith and will share any new blog posts there too. I’d love to see you there.

20151219_205441

6 thoughts on “Behold: Joyful, Expectant Looking

  1. This is so beautiful. The lyrics to the song are amazing. I have always loved the old hymn it is well. The idea of it being well with our very soul, is hard to wrap my mind around. Thanks for faithfully writing and sharing for journey here.

    Like

    1. I thought I’d replied to your comment, Wendy…sorry this is late! I love these lyrics too, especially verse 1, as it reminds me of the power of our God. It is indeed difficult to wrap our heads around. Thank you for being such a faithful encourager and friend.

      Like

  2. That is my favorite hymn and I love the story of the reason it was written too. What beautiful words you have used to capture your one word behold. I was so blessed by reading. Thank you for sharing. Melinda

    Like

    1. Oh I do too, Melinda. After my Mum passed away I played it over and over again. I’m so glad it blessed you. Our God is so good. Thank you for your visit and encouragement in commenting.

      Like

  3. *When shame pulls me into hiding, let me behold His powerful grace, let me see the Love He is holding out to me as He keeps chasing me with His beauty (Psalm 23, The Message).*

    This one spoke to me the most, but I love the way the word Behold speaks to every aspect of our lives and to every facet of God. Behold what manner of love the Father has given to us, that we should become the sons of God!

    Like

    1. It does, doesn’t it, Heidi. I’ve been noticing that as I go about my day and am able to speak it into all sorts of situations to turn my focus back to God. Thank you for your visit and encouragement.

      Like

Comments are closed.