A January of Unwrapping Hope

I shared yesterday that my One Word Resolution this year is to BEHOLD the Face of the LORD in all I do. In reflecting on what this calls me to do, I’ve been reminded of the crucial role that Biblical HOPE plays. Without hope in the things unseen, we walk shuffling and stumbling through life, as the broken world around and in us shapes our perspective because we fail to trust in God’s eternal promises.

1 Corinthians 15:19 If in Christ we have hope in this life only, we are of all people most to be pitied.

I know this all too well because I lived it for about twenty years of my life. I took my eyes off the LORD and turned them to the world around me, and in so doing let pain, rejection and my yearning for human love and approval remove the hope that had been growing through the gift of faith the Lord had given me as a little four-year old child.

As the LORD has been breaking the hold of pain, human approval and fear in my life, my trust in Him has been growing. And in the trusting, in the leaning into Him, He’s been opening my eyes to the gift of eternal hope. This past month especially, I’ve beheld His awesome works and been filled with a deep yearning for things unseen, as the hope of heaven and God’s Glory fulfilled has grown a powerful hope, a growing assurance in things unseen:

Romans 8:24-25 For in this hope we were saved. Now hope that is seen is not hope. For who hopes for what he sees? But if we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience.

20151219_214236

I never ever want to lose this powerful gift of hope, I long to keep beholding the world with heaven before me and eternity engraved upon my heart until it is fulfilled and to share it with those the Lord places before me.

2 Corinthians 4: 6

For God, who said, “Let light shine out of darkness,” made his light shine in our hearts to give us the light of the knowledge of God’s glory displayed in the face of Christ.

20151120_155112

And that is why I will spend this month unwrapping the gift of hope God has given us. I am expectantly praying that the LORD will grow our confidence in the things unseen to patiently wait for their fulfilment, as we behold the promises in His Word that He declares will not return void to Him and the outworkings of them on men and women of faith.

May the Lord grant us eyes to behold the “eternal weight of glory”, as we this month “look not to the things that are seen, but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal.”. May “our inner self [be] renewed day by day”, even as “our outer self is wasting away” (2 Corinthians 4: 16 – 18). Let His promises assure us of our eternal hope, so that we do “not lose heart”, even when “We are hard pressed on every side … persecuted …[and] struck down” (2 Corinthians 4: 9).

20151216_105408

Will you join me, as I expectantly and joyfully unwrap the gift of hope in things unseen, by beholding the promises of our Lord and the outworkings of them in the lives of men and women of faith?

I’d love to connect with you, as I continue sharing my journey into God’s Great Love this year, so that we may encourage each other. I have created a Joy of the Spirit Within Facebook page for this purpose. If you like the page, you will receive updates from it in your Newsfeed and when you head on over to the page you can join in the conversations we have about faith.

This post is linked up to Faith ‘n Friends and  Faith Filled Friday:

10 thoughts on “A January of Unwrapping Hope

    1. I’m so happy you’re joining me, Andrew. I’ve seen the hope of heaven in your posts…and pray this hope will keep carrying you forward into the arms of our Saviour. May God pour out His peace upon you today.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Anna, your words here are so precious, yet so powerful! Thank you so very much for sharing such a wonderful message of encouragement, Love. You have definitely blessed my heart this morning. GOD bless you, beautiful friend! 🙂

    Like

  2. Thank you for your words today, Anna. I think we must be kindred souls! I just wrote you in a comment on my blog that “Behold” had been my word for December. And hope? One of my all-time favorite themes!

    May the Lord give us grace to fix our hope on the unseen. 🙂

    Like

  3. Dear Anna, I could get lost in the longing for heaven. How comforting to know heaven visits us wearing the garment of hope. Thank you for being faithful to explore this and to share it. Discouragement with things of this fragile, broken, human world can cast long shadows over hope’s bright light. God has given you such a gift, praying for your encouragement as you endeavor to touch the hem of Jesus’s garment… may your grieving heart find healing in it.

    Like

    1. Oh Wendy,it can indeed cast long shadows over hope’s bright light…the enemy is always on the prowl…but Our Mighty God has won the battle and is working even now to break the hold of this shadow upon us…His Spirit of Love abounds and is being poured out upon us to draw us back into hope. I’m continuing to lift you all up in prayer and expectantly waiting for God to answer in power.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.