The Gift of Presence

This post is a guest post for incourage.me and is also linked up to the #FiveMinuteFriday prompt: Quiet

Luke 10:38-42 (The Message)

As they continued their travel, Jesus entered a village. A woman by the name of Martha welcomed him and made him feel quite at home. She had a sister, Mary, who sat before the Master, hanging on every word he said. But Martha was pulled away by all she had to do in the kitchen. Later, she stepped in, interrupting them.” Master, don’t you care that my sister has abandoned the kitchen to me? Tell her to lend me a hand.”

The Master said, ” Martha, dear Martha, you’re fussing far too much and getting yourself worked up over nothing. One thing only is essential, and Mary has chosen it – it’s the main course, and it won’t be taken from her.”

Yesterday, late afternoon, my oldest daughter kept coming back to ask me to play. And I kept telling her “Not now, I’m busy.” It was the dinner that needed cooking, or the lounge that needed tidying, or the dishes that needed to be done, or the messages that needed replying to ….the list is endless. When I was running this morning, however, the story of Martha and Mary came to me. Martha stayed in the kitchen to “do all the work”, while Mary sat down with Jesus to “be lazy”, as I too often see it, and listen. Jesus effectively told us all to be more like the present Mary and less like the striving Martha. Yesterday, I was more Martha than Mary.

Growing up, my Mum was …

To read the remainder of this post please head on over to incourage.me.

20160129-Smit-Hearts

Incourage.me describes itself as a place where:

Dirty feet and tired hearts are all welcome.

In the fall of 2009, (in)courage opened its doors and invited women from all over the world to come away and rest awhile. Creating a space in the middle of the every day chaos. A space to breathe. A space to connect. A space to listen. And a space to hear from the God who names us His daughters.

And I have personally been incredibly blessed by their ministry on my journey into God’s Great and Perfect Love thus far.

Sign up here to receive free daily encouragement from the writers of (in)courage, right in your inbox!

 

7 thoughts on “The Gift of Presence

  1. Hey Anna! It’s nice to “meet” you 🙂 Fun that we get to be guest post neighbors at (in)courage! Thanks for the beautiful words and reminder to sweep schedules out of the way to do His work.
    Jenny

    Like

    1. Nice to “meet” you too. So glad it blessed you.

      Your post was the extra nudge I needed…we really do carry Jesus everywhere we go, so it’s so important to show up in our neighborhoods.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Anna, such a beautiful post. Being present is a choice, and it’s a hard one to live out in the throes of mothering younger children. You are truly blessed to have other Mary’s in your life who help you grow in wisdom. I’m so, so sorry you lost your mother. I can only imagine the depth of that loss.

    Thanks for sharing a piece of your heart here today!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Jeanne. It sure is, Jeanne, both a choice and hard. I’m heading into a 10-day break from all blogging and Facebook…look forward to catching up with you and FiveMinuteFriday bloggers when I return.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.