Come to Me, All You Who are Weary

Matthew 11: 28-30 (NIV)

28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

This morning, I woke to this Scripture reverberating within me. And what it made me remember is my day on Thursday, when I consciously decided to cancel my plans to slow down and sit with my wee girl. I sat there looking into her joy-filled eyes and my heart was filled with such incredible warmth and love for her. And it was as if I heard God say, “This is what it’s all about. This is what I’m calling you to.”

As I played hide and seek, in between changing the sheets, and helped her build a little duplo house, I just watched her. What I saw was a little person soaking up all that life offered her. Each and every step she took, each and every movement, each and every little word was filled to the brim with such joyful intent. And I just stood and sat there marveling at the life within her.

You see, I saw something that my Saviour stands there holding out to me every single day: “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” I saw that rest in her eyes, a rest of abundant, glorious life. And now I sit here reflecting upon the heavy “yoke” I place upon myself, rather than leaning in to accept the light “yoke” Jesus extends to me.

Have you ever wondered why Jesus says we should give to the needy, with our left hand not knowing what our right hand is doing (Matthew 6: 3)? I think I’m finally understanding what He meant. When that happens, when we start giving of ourselves, without realizing we’re even giving, then the love of Christ has worked its way so deeply within us that just like my wee girl we lunge into life with palms open wide, soaking up all it has to offer. We’re giving back what Christ has given us: Love, to each and every person we meet. We don’t even know we’re doing it…it pours out of us, because we’re so filled to the brim with it. What we used to see as a chore becomes an invitation to rest in His Love.

“Come sit with me,” He calls, as our children invite us to play or to fill their hungry bellies. “Come sit with me,” He calls, as our husband invites us to listen to his day and as we see him look wearily at the unorganized clutter and drab before him, longing for us to pour more love into our home. “Come sit with me,” He calls, as our friend invites us into her hard. “Come sit with me,” He calls, as our neighbour shares of sick children and exhaustion mounting. “Come sit with me,” He calls, as a Mum at church shares of the burden of studying and working, caring for her family’s needs. “Come sit with me,” He calls, as we pick up the paper and read of a hurting world around us. And we lean in, giving of our heart in the stopping, listening, tidying, cooking and praying in each and every little task for God to bless.

I want my heart to be a heart that overflows with the Love I choose to receive. I want to be the hands that give without knowing they’re even giving. I want to lunge into life with all that’s within me and just like my wee girl, be filled to the brim with deep joy, as each and every movement of my rested body and soul pours out the Love within me. For we love because He first loved us. And the world will see Christ, when they see us love. For it is yoked by His Love that we live and move and have our being in it.

Father God, let us take upon this light yoke. Let us accept the love you extend to us daily. Let us come and sit with you, each and every day, each and every hour, each and every little minute.

 

4 thoughts on “Come to Me, All You Who are Weary

  1. Hello friend,
    I was just pondering that place of parenting, and seeing the world through their eyes. Mine are older and life was simpler when they were wee. But therebis so much in your post. So much truth and love. Aw… “come sit with me,” is resonating in my heart. I have need of sitting with Him. I love how you described that giving without even knowing we are giving. And that it is no longer a chore, but a blessing. I sure needed this just know. Am in the midst of another onslaught of battles. Aw… it is the nature of grief. Thank you for being faithful and sharing the joy of your heart.

    Like

    1. Hugs to you from afar! Yes, grief takes us new places, for sure and places that stretch us. Today, biking to church grief and feelings of unworthiness hit me hard, but then this worship song came to me: “Thank you oh my Father for giving us your Son and leaving your Spirit here until your work on earth is done.” Such comfort and grace…if I choose to lean into it.

      Yes, true…my girls’ age is simpler for sure…although if I’m honest, I’m struggling with the exhaustion and noise of this stage. Am having to learn this letting go and sitting at His feet. I’m not called to fix them, but to love them as they are and can really only do that if I accept His Love and Grace and come to Him as I am: still a struggle, so thankful that His mercies are new every morning.

      Like

  2. Amen. “I want to be the hands that give without knowing they’re even giving.” Me too, me too, friend. Have a blessed week. You have an amazing soul and you are a wonderful child of God. I’m so glad to have run into you. Godspeed!

    Like

Comments are closed.