Morning: The Bleeding Sky

This post was written for the #FiveMinuteFriday prompt: Morning.

Five-Minute-Friday-4-668x668

Have you ever watched the sun go down or the sun go up? What always tears at my heart is the beauty of the bleeding sky. And yet this bleeding sky precedes both a darkness, the night, and morning, a light.

And as I lay in bed reflecting on this prompt of morning, what I saw was how suffering, the bleeding sky, can precede both a descent into darkness or an ascent into Light.

20151218_213140

Jesus tells us (John 8: 12):

“I am the Light of the world; he who follows Me will not walk in the darkness, but will have the Light of life.”

In and of ourselves we lean into darkness: into hiding in shame, into numbing in sin, into choosing distrust over trust. We choose to walk in the night. And yet, when He breaks the night open to bleed, when He helps us to feel what we’ve hidden, numbed and distrusted into oblivion, it is then specks of Light begin to appear. That’s when His Light begins to shine upon our shame, our pain and our distrustful hearts.

You see, even though the bleeding red denotes Light it also denotes searing pain: the feeling of the searing pain of God’s Light upon our humanity, upon our sinful deeds, but also upon the suffering that has pierced our hearts, the suffering birthed upon the fall of man. His Light reopens the wounds of rejection, abuse, illness, disease and the death of those we love, suffering that the dark of night has hidden from our sight. But the bleeding sky also denotes something greater than it all: His blood that was poured out for us all to bring us into His wonderful, saving, loving Light.

So, as He moves us into His Light, He turns us to the Light of His Word,

Psalm 119: 105 (NASB)

Your word is a lamp to my feet And a light to my path.

and a sacrifice so powerful that it completely obliterates the hold of darkness upon us, if we choose to lean into the bleeding red: the love and grace of His blood poured out for us,

John 3: 16 (NIV)

For God so loved the world that He gave His one and only Son, so that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life.

but also to the path of the cross we are called to follow: a path of feeling the suffering we’ve denied, but embraced by His strengthening, upholding and comforting Love:

Luke 9: 23 – 27  (The Message)

Then he told them what they could expect for themselves: “Anyone who intends to come with me has to let me lead. You’re not in the driver’s seat—I am. Don’t run from suffering; embrace it. Follow me and I’ll show you how. Self-help is no help at all. Self-sacrifice is the way, my way, to finding yourself, your true self. What good would it do to get everything you want and lose you, the real you? If any of you is embarrassed with me and the way I’m leading you, know that the Son of Man will be far more embarrassed with you when he arrives in all his splendor in company with the Father and the holy angels. This isn’t, you realize, pie in the sky by and by. Some who have taken their stand right here are going to see it happen, see with their own eyes the kingdom of God.”

Isaiah 30: 18 (AMP)

Therefore the Lord waits [expectantly] and longs to be gracious to you,
And therefore He waits on high to have compassion on you.
For the Lord is a God of justice;
Blessed (happy, fortunate) are all those who long for Him [since He will never fail them].

And if we choose to lean, to accept His embrace of Love and Grace, as we step into our own humanity of brokenness and suffering, the bleeding red slowly, but surely breaks into glorious day, a day whose Light we will know in increasing measure, until we are fully unified with Christ in heaven above. So, (Isaiah 60: 1, Amplified Version)

Arise [from the depression and prostration in which circumstances have kept you — “rise to a new life]! Shine (be radiant with the glory of the Lord), for your light has come, and the glory of the Lord has risen upon you!

8 thoughts on “Morning: The Bleeding Sky

    1. It hit me too: it was if God was reminding me to keep leaning into His Light, to keep allowing Him to shine His Light upon the searing pain to break me open more and more into the Fullness of Light. Joining you in that thankfulness: what mercy, what grace, what love meets us in His embrace. Thank you for stopping by and encouraging in commenting.

      Like

  1. Anna, what a beautiful post. As was mentioned above, I never thought about this: “what I saw was how suffering, the bleeding sky, can precede both a descent into darkness or an ascent into Light.” You’re so right. It’s the blood of Jesus that redeems us in our darkness, and gives us hope. I loved the image you closed with: “but surely breaks into glorious day, a day whose Light we will know in increasing measure, until we are fully unified with Christ in heaven above.”

    Profound thoughts, my friend!

    Like

    1. Oh I can’t claim these thoughts as my own! It’s always as if I’m led, taken by the hand and shown which way to go with my writing: and as I go back and read what I’ve written, I see God’s hand, also in the Love and encouragement he shows me, by giving me exactly what I need to hear! But your sweet encouragement does mean a lot (and I see that as God’s love in you pouring out as well: He’s given you a beautiful soft heart). Thank you for dropping by. Have a wonderful weekend with your boys.

      Like

  2. What an original and insightful take on ‘morning’! Yes, the sky does indeed look bruised and bleeding as it seeps indigo into darkness. A stark reminder of our brokenness, woundedness and human frailty leading to mortal death.How wonderful to view it as precursor to the work God is doing by His light within. Lovely post! 🙂

    Like

    1. God gives us some beautiful insights, doesn’t He? He often uses nature to speak to me and I love watching the skies (I come from the Land of the Long White Cloud- Aotearoa, New Zealand).

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.