Blessed Righteousness

This post has been written for Bonnie Gray’s #OneWordCoffee Scripture prompt:

“So do not fear, for I am with you;
do not be dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you and help you;
I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”
Isa. 41:10 

This past month, I’ve again struggled with the suffering I’ve witnessed around me. A refugee sharing of a life filled with hardship, abuse and pain. A loved one facing the loss of a precious life, planned and hoped for with all her heart. And it’s made me question God. Why, LORD, do some suffer much and others little? Why, LORD, do You heal some and not others? Why do You not always intervene for those who love You?

I have known God’s beautiful intimate love precisely in and through suffering, and yet, where the suffering exceeds my own in others’ lives, I struggle. “Where are You, LORD?” I wonder. Why are You waiting to extend Your compassion?

And then, I arrived at our Moms’ Worship session at church and one worship song after another spoke of God’s knowing and perfect Love. That He sees us and longs to draw us up on His lap. And I couldn’t stop crying, as I lifted the one I love up to God, replacing “I” with her name as I sung, begging for Him to fulfill His promises in her life.

And ever so slowly, my heart has been directed to let go in trust. In Nehemiah 9:8 (NIV) it says: “…You have kept Your promise because You are righteous.” Our God is righteous: of “rightness (abstractly), subjectively (rectitude), objectively (justice), morally (virtue) or figuratively (prosperity) — justice, moderately, right(-eous) (act, -ly,-ness)”(Strong’s Concordance). He is faithful to those He has gifted His righteousness through their belief: ‘So also Abraham “believed God, and it was credited to him as righteousness.” (Galatians 3:6, NIV). And like Abraham, Moses and countless others before us, He will remain faithful to us, He will yet restore that which has been and is being torn from us. For in God we carry HOPE in the fulfillment of His powerful righteousness:

Zechariah 9: 12 (NASB)

Return to the [a]stronghold, O prisoners [b]who have the hope;
This very day I am declaring that I will restore double to you.

And through His righteousness, He WILL be with us, He will be our God, He will strengthen us and help us, He will uphold us in the deep dark valleys, until His righteousness is fully revealed in full restoration. Thank You, LORD for Your unfailing Love, for NEVER ever forsaking us.

I am releasing a book about my journey in and through suffering into God’s mighty arms on May 14th (Mother’s Day: in honor of my Mum,who passed into heaven on April 8th 2014, and God’s shining Light in her). For more information about Love Embraced: A Journey in and through Suffering, head on over to my author’s Facebook Page. My dear friend Emily Stephenson is also promoting the book with beautiful handmade jewelry, inspired by #LoveEmbraced. Below is an example of what you can find at The Wildflower Heart:

loved meme final

