It Isn’t Easy, But He is With You, Always

This post has been written for the Five Minute Friday prompt: easy. Come join us at Kate Motaung’s Heading Home. It is also linked up to #GraceandTruth:

Five-Minute-Friday-4-668x668

GraceampTruth-125x125_zpsekotjchq

Psalm 23

New American Standard Bible (NASB)

The Lord, the Psalmist’s Shepherd.

A Psalm of David.

The Lord is my shepherd,
I [a]shall not want.
He makes me lie down in green pastures;
He leads me beside [b]quiet waters.
He restores my soul;
He guides me in the [c]paths of righteousness
For His name’s sake.

Even though I walk through the[d]valley of the shadow of death,
I fear no [e]evil, for You are with me;
Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.
You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
You [f]have anointed my head with oil;
My cup overflows.
[g]Surely goodness and lovingkindness will follow me all the days of my life,
And I will [h]dwell in the house of the Lord [i]forever.

Such a simple truth. “You are with me…” He has been, is and will be with us, His children, forever. Even when life is not easy, when it seems too hard to bear.

Babies will die before their first breath is even taken, or succum to the curse of disease outside the womb. And yet God still holds these precious children close to His heart, reviving and restoring unto wholeness the life that has been taken, in heaven above. And He is gently leading their parents forward. He will not leave or forsake their heavy, at times angry, grieving hearts. He will keep pursuing them in His mighty loving kindness, opening them to see and cling to His “goodness in the land of the living” and the Hope of wholeness to come.

20160414_145629

Refugees will face one hardship after another, wondering when their hard will ever end. And yet, they will find their feet moving forward in a strength no longer their own. He will hedge them in from behind and before in Spirit-led prayer, encouraging and uplifting them through His gentle pursuit in the hands and feet of His Body. And they will yet sing and leap for joy, as His Spirit pours into the weary, broken crevices of their heart.

20160318_101653

Daughters and sons, will feel their hearts heave with the weight of loss, of parents gone out before them. And yet they will feel His Love, compassion and kindness moving them forward. Joy and gladness will keep reaching deep into their gaping holes, as the buried seeds of hope watered in countless tears, begin to budd and sprout, revealing resplendent beautiful colour.

20160318_104013

No, life will not be easy, but in the hard we will begin to see more and more of His mighty Presence at work within and through us, as He turns us toward Him. Just like He did for the two men on the road to Emmaus, He will keep opening our doubting hearts to see Him, precisely in the grief, the despair and the terribly hard to understand…

Father God, I yearn to keep seeing Your goodness in the land of the living, even in the inexplicable hard. Open my eyes to recognize You, again and again. Help me to release that which stops me from beholding You, so that I might receive that which You are holding out to me.

20160414_145520

Abba Father, help me to see your goodness and loving kindness follow me and all Your children. Give me eyes to see and ears to both hear Your Word and live and move and have my being in it. And let me rest in the knowledge that You are with me and all Your children, and will be forever and always.

Guide me forward, Jesus, clothed in Your goodness and loving kindness. And let me pour it out onto those You long to bless. Let me be Your hands and feet, a vessel for Your Glory in this aching, weary world. Thank you, Jesus.

Isaiah 55:9-13New American Standard Bible (NASB)

“For as the heavens are higher than the earth,
So are My ways higher than your ways
And My thoughts than your thoughts.
10 “For as the rain and the snow come down from heaven,
And do not return there without watering the earth
And making it bear and sprout,
And furnishing seed to the sower and bread to the eater;
11 So will My word be which goes forth from My mouth;
It will not return to Me empty,
Without accomplishing what I desire,
And without succeeding in the matter for which I sent it.
12 “For you will go out with joy
And be led forth with peace;
The mountains and the hills will break forth into shouts of joy before you,
And all the trees of the field will clap their hands.
13 “Instead of the thorn bush thecypress will come up,
And instead of the nettle the myrtle will come up,
And [a]it will be a [b]memorial to theLord,
For an everlasting sign which will not be cut off.”

Footnotes:

  1. Isaiah 55:13I.e. the transformation of the desert
  2. Isaiah 55:13Lit name

I am releasing Love Embraced, a book about my journey in and through suffering into God’s mighty arms on May 8th (Mother’s Day: in honor of her Mum, who passed into heaven on April 8th 2014, and God’s shining Light in her). For more information about Love Embraced: A Journey in and through Suffering, head on over to my author’s Facebook Page. My dear friend Emily Stephenson is also promoting the book with beautiful handmade jewelry, inspired by #LoveEmbraced. Below is an example of what you can find at The Wildflower Heart:

loved meme final

book over Final

14 thoughts on “It Isn’t Easy, But He is With You, Always

  1. Beautiful! A dear friend and her husband lost their infant daughter a few weeks ago. She was born months early and lived 90 minutes. Your words here were balm today. Thank You! I’m visiting from FMF where I’m in the #6 spot.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Jesus. He knows what we need and when.

      It’s so very hard to watch someone you love go through that. Someone very dear to me lost her little one too, early and without a breath being taken: a beautiful little face, feet and hands. When she knew she’d lose him, I sent her the passage from Isaiah about Jesus holding the little lambs close to His heart and gently leading those with young. I truly believe that this is also His promise to mothers who have lost their unborn babies.

      You’re talking about Julia and her baby Kaia, right? You mentioned her on twitter. I’ve been praying for them. I just can’t even imagine how hard that must be. But thank You, Jesus that you’re holding them in the palm of Your Mighty hand.

      Like

  2. Anna, such a beautiful, hopeful post. There is such great comfort knowing God is with us always and forever. He is there to give consolation, to offer hope, to pour out tenderness, to guide and to strengthen us. I am sorry for all the loss that has crossed your path recently. It’s beyond hard to watch those we care about losing parents and babies.

    And this said it well: “life will not be easy, but in the hard we will begin to see more and more of His mighty Presence at work within and through us, as He turns us toward Him.” Thank goodness God lets us see and know His presence in the hard.

    Have a great weekend, my friend.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Jeanne. Yes, it is hard. Thank goodness He does indeed. Life is hard, with or without Jesus…but with Him, we are given the gift of what you share here: consolation, hope, tenderness, guidance and strength. Thank You, Jesus.

      Like

  3. Anna, I am aware of the hard you and your family have inhabited recently and my heart grieves with you. These words offer us great reassurance in painful times: ” life will not be easy, but in the hard we will begin to see more and more of His mighty Presence at work within and through us, as He turns us toward Him.” Amen! A beautiful word, my friend. Thank you for always pointing us toward the One whose continual love and grace makes all the difference in this world and beyond. Blessings of peace to you. Xx ❤

    Like

    1. He is our God of life-giving Hope. Can’t imagine facing what life has been throwing at us lately without Him. Thank you for your encouragement, Lynn.

      Like

  4. I’ve learned from not-easy experiences that the hard stuff brings the good stuff…it brings the best stuff. Because as you so wisely point out, it’s then that we sense the presence and provision of our Father in new and deeper ways. Thank you for sharing this encouragement with us at Grace & Truth!

    Like

    1. So beautiful to hear that you’ve experienced that, Jennifer. I’m excited to see what God brings from the hard of sharing my journey so vulnerably in Love Embraced. Thank you for your encouragement here.

      Like

Comments are closed.