His Goodness Is Passing Before Us

This post has been written for Kate Moutang’s #FiveMinuteFriday:

Five-Minute-Friday-4-668x668

Exodus 33: 19 (NASB)

And He said, “I Myself will make all My goodness pass before you, and will proclaim the name of the Lord before you; and I will be gracious to whom I will be gracious, and will show compassion on whom I will show compassion.”

When Moses is privileged with the Presence of the LORD, we see the immensity of the Glory of God: that it is too great for it to be revealed fully. Even now, with the Presence of Jesus in our hearts, we only get a tiny glimpse of the Powerful Greatness of Our God that He will reveal fully when He calls us all Home.

Today, He still blesses us, just like the Israelites of old, by making “His goodness … pass before [us]”. These are just tiny but already immensely beautiful glimpses into His powerful Love for us, giving us, as hard as that is to believe, a miniscule taste of Glory to come.

Last night, I got a glimpse into this Goodness. I stood there with tears falling down my cheeks. You see, a friend had just shared something powerful. She told me that she had been praying for me every day since my mother died. All this time, two years long, I never knew. On the other side of the world a dear friend of mine, who had moved away from the Netherlands many years before, was prompted by God’s Spirit to lift me up in prayer. I cannot describe just how humbled I was to hear of this. Do you see it too: all along it was God’s goodness passing before me in the incense of prayer.

And then yesterday afternoon, I sat there holding my new friend’s hand as tears streamed down her face. She told me how precious my visits are to her: to know that someone actually cares for her and her family. A refugee and solo-mother,  her story of hard is beyond anything I will ever fathom. And I sat there marveling at God’s hand in bringing us together. All along, He’d heard her cries and yearning, and moved me to sit beside her at church, to talk to a stranger, after I’d seen her sitting alone with her kids through the service, just like myself. And He’d seen my heart yearn for community, a vulnerable, real community where we’d dare to confess doubts, anger, fear, tears … and God’s Presence in it all. He knew that she would be a powerful encouragement to me in my faith: tethered to her Rock as she has been through the most horrendous of circumstances.

Will you join me in slowing to look for this “goodness”. It truly is passing before us every single day. And yet I know that I for one do not stop to see it or acknowledge it every day: to receive it as the gift of Love it is intended- both for me and those before me, whose tearful prayers are waiting to be answered.

Father God, thank You. Thank You so very much for stooping low, for humbling Yourself to reveal Yourself to Your children, to surround them in Your Majesty every single day. Thank You for passing Your goodness before us in the hearts of a people of many tongues and tribes and in the yearnings you deposit in our own hearts. Father God still us to see this Goodness, to acknowledge it, praise it and receive it with open arms.

I am publishing a book. Love Embraced: A Journey in and through Suffering will be released on Mother’s Day, May 8th, as a dedication to my beautiful mother, who passed away from cancer two years ago.

MORE ABOUT LOVE EMBRACED:  A JOURNEY IN AND THROUGH SUFFERING

Not one of us is immune to suffering. So many of us have experienced loss, rejection, trauma and/or deep hurt. But often we decide to keep working, to keep going and to keep numbing that which we are terribly scared will break us into tiny little pieces. Love Embraced records the author’s own journey through such suffering, in: caring for her mother dying of cancer, grieving her mother’s death, her diagnosis of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, and working through repressed childhood memories. 

But, it also reveals how in starting to face that which she was too frightened to face, she began to embrace and be embraced by a mighty God into:  freedom, hope, comfort, peace, strength and deep joy.

Annas’s dear friend Emily Stephenson is also promoting the book with beautiful handmade jewelry, inspired by #LoveEmbraced. Below is an example of what you can find at The Wildflower Heart:

loved meme final

14 thoughts on “His Goodness Is Passing Before Us

  1. This is beautiful! You are so right. Our Pastor spoke on this not too long ago. We need to take the time to care about someone who is new to the Church. What do we look like if we just pass them by without any acknowledgement? I am visiting from FMF, I am in spot 63 this week.

    Like

    1. You know, I notice it so much more because I attend alone with my two kids. The families I know all seem to have their own usual spots with friends, who they’ve known for much longer, so I usually sit alone…unless I spot someone else who is sitting alone (and if they’re near the exit: needed with my kids who don’t like church at the moment), I go sit next to them. I know how hard it is going alone and my heart hurts for them. I can tell you that I spot many people who come alone…and sadly there are not many who actually notice them and speak to them.

      Thanks for visiting and encouraging.

      Like

  2. beautiful! I love little God kisses, wonderful reminders that He cares. Thanks for the reminder to slow down to look for the opportunities to bless others.
    Have a great weekend!

    In the number 30 and 32 spot this week at FMF

    Like

    1. God is beautiful, isn’t He?! Yes, a book…self-published, so it’s been a hard journey, but one God has been blessing in His leading and through the gifts of His Body. I’m excited to see the blessings He will bring through it.

      Like

  3. I wonder how often we miss God’s beauty passing in front of us. Sometimes He just hasn’t revealed it to us, but other times it’s there so obviously, but our eyes are blind. Thanks for sharing this.

    Like

    1. I think much too often…which makes me wonder at the extent of His Love: much greater than we can ever fathom! Thanks for visiting and encouraging by commenting.

      Like

    1. It is, isn’t it, Lynn! It’s so easy to forget God’s (as yet) invisible world of Power: God is working day and night! Thanks for your faithful encouragement, Lynn. You are such a blessing.

      Like

  4. I liked how you used this word. I know I miss it every day when I focus too hard on tasks instead of treasuring the little gift He has given to me. Going to be a prayer for me today

    Like

    1. I was stumped by the prompt and went searching for Scriptures with “pass” in it- this is the one that sat with me and I kept having different blessings come to mind throughout the day because of it! God’s Word never returns void! So glad God blessed you through it too.

      Like

Comments are closed.