Haven

This post was written for Kate’s Five Minute Friday prompt: Haven

Five-Minute-Friday-4-668x668

Hosea 2: 14 (NIV)

“Therefore I am now going to allure her; I will lead her into the wilderness and speak tenderly to her.

A few days ago a dear friend of mine mentioned this Scripture and I’ve found my heart returning to it repeatedly. You see, I keep finding my Haven in this wilderness, in the dry arid places of my heart. Places God keeps leading me into, taking me where I least want to go.

But dry, barren places thirst for Living Water, for life, for Hope, for loving tender care. How can comfort, hope, peace, and even joy come, if the wilderness of our hearts remains tightly shut.

And so, God keeps unearthing more and more, leading me into the wilderness, to force me to “pour out” my heart to Him, to release the wilderness to the Fount of His Life-Giving Love, so that the seeds of His Word may take root, grow and blossom.

Psalm 62: 8 (NIV)

Trust in him at all times, you people; pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge.

Join Wendy and I today as we give you a glimpse into the wilderness of our hearts the life-giving Love that God has been pouring into and out of us in-  Breaking Light: Under the Shadow of His Wings.

received_1324754730874698

6 thoughts on “Haven

  1. There was a time when God removed the sense of His presence from me. I knew He was still there for He never abandons us, but I couldn’t feel Him. All of my prayers seems to hit the ceiling and crash down on me. This lasted for…about two months, I think. I knew that He wanted to see how I would live, if I would operate out of what I knew to be true or out of what I felt, which is always changing. It was not an experience I’d like to repeat, but I learned a valuable lesson: There is beauty in the desert and music in the silence.

    Like

    1. Thanks for sharing this experience, Marie. It’s beautiful how He grows us, isn’t it? He prepares us too for things to come, strengthening us by drawing us closer.

      Like

Comments are closed.