From Want to Trusting Hope

This post has been written for Kate’s #FiveMinuteFriday prompt: want

Five-Minute-Friday-4-668x668

What if what you want most requires you to step into your biggest fears? What if it means trusting that completion will come in God’s timing and not your own? What if it means carrying an ache, daily? What if it means knowing that until it is fulfilled that what is most precious to you, what resides within you, cannot be fully shared with the person most precious to you? What if it overwhelms you and crushes you?

But then with a heavy heart you turn your eyes heavenward to behold this:

20160609_213346

And you remember that you are a prisoner of hope, as He calls you to return to your stronghold, to take hold of the promise that restoration will yet come (Zechariah 9: 12). And you recall that the Love which resides within you carries power: the power of the Maker of the heavens and earth in all their glory:

Psalm 19: 1 (NIV)

The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands.

And to wield that Power is to take what crushes, frightens, overwhelms and aches full-face, and to lay it at His feet … waiting for Hope to appear, trusting that the One who gives such tapestries of skies as gifts, won’t ever run out on you:

Lamentations 3: 28 – 33 (MSG)

When life is heavy and hard to take,
    go off by yourself. Enter the silence.
Bow in prayer. Don’t ask questions:
    Wait for hope to appear.
Don’t run from trouble. Take it full-face.
    The “worst” is never the worst.

Why? Because the Master won’t ever
    walk out and fail to return.
If he works severely, he also works tenderly.
    His stockpiles of loyal love are immense.
He takes no pleasure in making life hard,
    in throwing roadblocks in the way:

Then, as you allow yourself to feel the pain, the fear, the deep yearning, as you look up at the skies, beholding His face … the tears flow and the praises cascade off your lips. Your deepest want transforms into trusting Hope, as your heart turns to run after the only One who can still and quench all that hides within it.

Heart Runs, Sarah McMillan

Like deer to the pool
I’m coming after you
Like a thirsty animal
My heart is for your love

Like Jonah from the deep
I’m coming out of my sleep
To find the secrets that you keep
Is the only thing worth rising for

From the dirt you’ve drawn me out
And you draw me out again
I’m coming back from the dead
I’m coming out of my skin

And you are everything my heart wants
Everything my heart wants
And my heart runs
My heart runs after you

Like breakers on the shore
You’re knocking on my door
Like the deepest places in you
Calling to the fountains of my soul

From the dirt you’ve drawn me out
And you draw me out again
I’m coming back from the dead
I’m coming out of my skin

And you are everything my heart wants
Everything my heart wants
And my heart runs
My heart runs after you

(So) My heart runs
(So) My heart runs
(So) My heart runs
My heart runs after you

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “From Want to Trusting Hope

  1. Beautiful hope etched in your words. In the clouds. In the scriptures. Thank you. Visiting, from your Five Minute Friday neighbor on the left.

    Like

    1. No…can’t claim that one, Kath. It’s a song by Sarah McMillan. If you click on the link it will go to her performing it live. It’s such a beautiful song and echoed exactly the feelings within me.

      Like

  2. I love how looking at the sky or other parts of God’s creation can turn our minds away from our circumstances onto Him and help us remember His power and love. It definitely brings hope, even in the midst of our wanting and waiting.

    Like

Comments are closed.