Build

This morning I headed over to Kate’s without the intention of writing anything, yet again. I’ve been exhausted. Wendy and I have been interviewing people for the past six weeks for our series Breaking Light. It has been such a privilege to do so, with such beautiful gifts extended to us in the most amazing of testimonies to God’s goodness through the deepest of valleys. But, it has also left little time, energy or emotional space for writing of my own. However, as I read Kate’s beautiful piece,  I heeded the tug of my heart and the call to listen in silence, as the words came.

I’d like to thank Kate (Five Minute Friday), Doug (Breaking Light) and Jennifer (The Happiness Dare) for the gifts they have extended me in their words, which have woven their way into my own.

Linked up to:

Five-Minute-Friday-4-668x668

BUILD

I will build
Not with my own two hands
But with the Spirit within me
Holding the hands of those
God places on my path.


I will build
Not with my own two hands
But with the Word of Truth
Speaking life into death
Hope into fear
Love into heartache.


I will build
Not with my own two hands
But with a listening ear
Heeding the Spirit’s leading
To pray not just with words
But with gestures too
With kindness
With outstretched hands.


I will build
Not with my own two hands
But with the Light of God
Pouring out His Grace
His Joy
His music of delight
Over each and every precious
Child of God.


I will build
Not with my own two hands
But with His Bridges
Not of Anger
But of Weeping
Not of Hatred
But of Love.


Father, forgive them
For they do not know
What they do.


Father, build us
Your church
On You, our Cornerstone
Till Your Kingdom
In all its Glory
Comes.

11 thoughts on “Build

  1. #poetry is always music in my soul. Beautiful piece and so glad you’ve joined #FMF. It’s been a real treat to write like this on Fridays. Be blessed, beautiful Anna. You are a beacon of light. I appreciate you immensely. xoxo (tweeting out)

    Like

Comments are closed.