Go and see!

wordswag_1473283023356

My last two posts – Daring Questions and The Invitation of Challenging Questions – both came in response to a little whisper that I heard late one night, in my bed, past midnight. I was praying for a friend and I distinctly heard: go read the story of me feeding the five thousand. When you hear a voice that clear you know to pay attention…and what He opened my eyes to at the end of this miracle stunned me:

“and the disciples picked up twelve basketfuls of broken pieces of bread and fish.” Mark 6: 43 (NIV)

EACH disciple gathers one basketfull of broken bread and fish. Do you see the significance of this? Do you see the foreshadowing of the Great Commission to come?

There is broken bread (Jesus/the Word/the Spirit: the Living Bread) and fish (lost sheep because Jesus called the disciples to be “fishers of men”) and these are gathered in the same basket. The Spirit of God is already lying with the fish, waiting.

wordswag_1473281709120

We are told that nobody comes to the Father except through Christ. We are told that it is Christ (the bread) who opens hearts and minds (of the fish) to the Gospel. We are told that Christ (the bread) has gone before us to prepare our good works (to impact the lives of the fish). We are called to good works, which lead us to seek first after the Kingdom of God (to bring the bread in us to the fish who have been lying there with the bread). As we do this, by serving others, we see God grow not only the fish gathered, but us also, as the bread (Christ) roots in them and encourages and challenges us. Then that fish is called himself/herself and we see the number of fish gathered, multiplying.

And it is then we see this happen:

“How many loaves do you have?” he [Jesus] said, “Go and see.” Mark 6: 38 NIV

The disciples are called to go, just as Jesus still calls each one of us to unique works He has prepared in advance for us. Put yourself into the shoes of the disciples for a minute. There’s five thousand men present. There’s twelve disciples. Imagine the task of seeking out bread from amongst so many. Overwhelming, right? But Jesus says, “Go and see.” So, they obey.

wordswag_1473281378925

Then, imagine for a moment being Andrew, the disciple who found the little boy with his lunch and brought him forward, a detail the Gospel of John shares with us (not Mark). Imagine the ridicule he could have received from the others for even thinking this small amount was worth bringing forward.

And think about the fact that the bread and fish were found with a child: the least of these.

And now, think about what Jesus could be telling you about the ministry he has called you to. Don’t read my response until you’ve considered your own, as God will probably show you something unique to your situation. I’d love to hear your response too!

To me, I find him saying through this: “Go where I’ve been nudging you repeatedly to go, for the freedom of my captive children. Look and see what and who I’ve placed around you, bring it, them and all of yourself forward to me and let me multiply what is lacking (faith, confidence, wisdom, support, money).”

I hear Him telling me that I’m not to make my own plans or shirk from going where I feel too scared and insufficient to go. I’m to go (where the situation is scary/overwhelming/impossible), look with the eyes of Jesus for who/what he has already prepared (recognizing that in my own eyes these seem terribly insufficient), and I’m not to start doing what I think is needed, but to FIRST bring what I’ve found to Jesus (in prayer and to His Word), to give thanks for all He has provided and allow Him to direct me further and fill in the gaps that have not yet been filled: to multiply not just to completion but to overflowing.

Luke 9: 1 – 5 MSG

Jesus now called the Twelve and gave them authority and power to deal with all the demons and cure diseases. He commissioned them to preach the news of God’s kingdom and heal the sick. He said, “Don’t load yourselves up with equipment. Keep it simple; you are the equipment. And no luxury inns—get a modest place and be content there until you leave. If you’re not welcomed, leave town. Don’t make a scene. Shrug your shoulders and move on.”

Matthew 28: 18 – 20 ESV

And Jesus came and said to them, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.”

Isaiah 58:9-12 (The Message)

“This is the kind of fast day I’m after: to break the chains of injustice, get rid of exploitation in the workplace, free the oppressed, cancel debts. What I’m interested in seeing you do is: sharing your food with the hungry, inviting the homeless poor into your homes, putting clothes on the shivering ill-clad, being available to your own families. Do this and the lights will turn on, and your lives will turn around at once. Your righteousness will pave your way. The God of glory will secure your passage. Then when you pray, God will answer. You’ll call out for help and I’ll say, ‘Here I am.’ “If you get rid of unfair practices, quit blaming victims, quit gossiping about other people’s sins, If you are generous with the hungry and start giving yourselves to the down-and-out, Your lives will begin to glow in the darkness, your shadowed lives will be bathed in sunlight. I will always show you where to go. I’ll give you a full life in the emptiest of places— firm muscles, strong bones. You’ll be like a well-watered garden, a gurgling spring that never runs dry. You’ll use the old rubble of past lives to build anew, rebuild the foundations from out of your past. You’ll be known as those who can fix anything, restore old ruins, rebuild and renovate, make the community livable again.

And then, you know it’s God speaking when absolutely out of the blue your three year old daughter talks about us needing to give Jesus our bread and fish!! And I ask her some more and she tells me that Jesus is hungry and wants to eat what we give Him. And before that she shared of a dream of being with Jesus in the sky and not wanting to leave and being sad she had to because Jesus was so beautiful. So, let’s slow to listen for His calling…so that we can share this beautiful Jesus with others, and so the hunger of our hearts (Jesus) is filled to overflowing!!

Holley-Gerth-Button-250x250

17 thoughts on “Go and see!

  1. Anna, this is so beautiful, the way that Jesus opened the Scriptures to you. And then to have your daughter come to you with those very words? So Amazing! I love it when HE confirms His Word in us. Thank you for the encouragement to bring our hearts to Jesus, who will bless the bread within us for the fish around us. –Blessings to you!

    Like

    1. Yes, it was stunning. And she’s done this kind of thing before…such a sensitive spirit to His whispers. Love how God uses those close to us to encourage us. So glad it encouraged you: God is so good!

      Like

  2. Anna, you are an inspiration and evidence in the value of lingering in God’s Word. Your efforts of being still and listening are bearing fruit. I love how God is confirming with precious gifts from your daughters that you are on the right track for knowing Him better and making Him known to others. My God continue to bless your efforts!

    Like

  3. And I must add that most days I feel like I need the blessing of the bread for my fish-hearted soul! Your post has encouraged me to keep pressing on in obedience with something that I feel so inadequate & small to do, Anna. I just had to come back and add this onto my previous comment!

    Like

    1. Don’t we all?! Abiding in our Vine is so vital, isn’t it. We can all feel so very small, can’t we, but in our God: we are powerful and invincible. So glad this encouraged you too: love how God multiplies His blessings.

      Like

    1. Oh yes…it’s packed full isn’t it? I have more posts waiting to be published: letting God lead their order. Can’t claim it as my own insight, truly…I’ve read this story so many times and never seen this before until God opened my eyes to see. It blesses me to share what He has gifted me. Thanks for visiting, Betsy…was so blessed by your post on bringing the Good News to the bus stop.

      Like

  4. How sweet of your three year old. A testimony on why Jesus calls us to be like little children, too. Taking a step of faith and really understanding that He will fill the gap is something I am finally kind of grasping. He continues to transforms us, free\s us, and of course always feeds us.

    Like

    1. Oh yes, they teach me so much. That’s exciting to hear that Lynn about how He’s grown your trust so much. You know, I think I see that in your blogging too. Yes: it’s truly a daily transformation. I thought I’d gotten to understanding that He would fill the gap in many ways last year, when I had so many situations I had to just trust and lean (my One Word being “choose” funnily!)…but I’m discovering He just keeps stretching me further and further…so thankful He gave me the One Word “behold” this year…I’ve needed that reminder so so often…but oh the freedom that comes from the stretching, huh?

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow, these are great insights that you’ve shared on this story of the loaves and fishes. I had never thought of some of these ideas before. I love how God used your three-year-old to confirm what he was teaching you. That’s beautiful.

    Like

    1. God is our God of beautiful and encouraging revelations….that’s why I love The Message Scripture version that speaks of The Spirit of the Truth taking us by the hand and leading us as a friend (John 16: 13). I was just stunned by what came out of her mouth…and it came as I’d been wondering which part of what He revealed I should publish next: it was clear as daylight then!

      Thanks for your encouraging post: it’s encouraged me to be more vigilant in prayer for my children and their (pre)schools.

      Like

  6. Wow awesome! I’ve read the story so many times and have asked God for more revelation on it because I just knew there were more nuggets to glean. So glad I was next to you. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.