Healing for the Diseased Heart


wordswag_1473441492642

Five-Minute-Friday-4-668x668

Today, I’m joining the Five Minute Friday writers around the world, writing in response to Kate Motaung’s prompt: heal.

“They all ate and were satisfied.” Mark 6: 42 (NIV)

I have sat with this verse for a long time, after God called me there. And what I see is this: where we ingest and digest the food Jesus gives us, we are “satisfied”. In John 6: (35-40) MSG:

“Jesus said, “I am the Bread of Life. The person who aligns with me hungers no more and thirsts no more, ever.”

Our satisfaction and contentment require us to both ingest (read the Word of God and listen to the promptings of the Spirit) and digest (allow the Word of God become a part of us, to determine how we think, act and speak). Here I need to consider in what areas of my life there is dissatisfaction/discontentment, for these are the parts of my life and heart I have not both ingested and digested the Bread of Life to bring the healing and wholeness my heart so craves:

Jeremiah 17: 9 – 10 MSG

“The heart is hopelessly dark and deceitful,
    a puzzle that no one can figure out.
But I, God, search the heart
    and examine the mind.
I get to the heart of the human.
    I get to the root of things.
I treat them as they really are,
    not as they pretend to be.”

Psalm 139: 24 ESV

Search me, O God, and know my heart!
    Try me and know my thoughts!
And see if there be any grievous way in me,
    and lead me in the way everlasting!

Healing, He tells us, comes through confession led by the conviction of His Word and Spirit. More often than not we are blinded to the sin that keeps us in chains because at its root lies a diseased and deceitful heart from the trauma of sin that so desperately needs to be opened so that He may heal what has been broken. We hurt or cower in fear, we hold on or repress, we become angry, impatience begins to sabotage our intentions to keep calm and kind.

Isaiah 30: 18 AMP

Therefore the Lord waits [expectantly] and longs to be gracious to you,
And therefore He waits on high to have compassion on you.
[a]For the Lord is a God of justice;
Blessed (happy, fortunate) are all those who long for Him [since He will never fail them].

Be encouraged, fellow sojourner toward heaven, the burden of our diseased and traumatized heart is exactly why Jesus has come. He’s come for us, the sick and hurting, who acknowledge their desperate need for His healing touch.

Psalm 86:12

Teach me your way,  O LORD, and I will walk in your truth; give me an undivided heart, that I may fear your name.

In making this verse my repeated prayer throughout my day, God has been opening my own heart to see the truth of, feel the sting of and confess my hidden sins…but oh the freedom in doing so. My burden is being lightened and my home brightened:

Psalm 32:2

Blessed is the man whose sin the LORD does not count against him and in whose spirit is no deceit.

These sins, without me even realizing it, have been not only hurting me, but also contributing to the sinful responses of my children. Where I choose NOT to surrender to God’s calling to keep casting my burdens on Him, to rest in the truth of His love for me and my children, and to take each lying thought captive and bend it to His truth, then my mouth speaks what my diseased heart is full of:

wordswag_1473434061060

Luke 6: 45 NIV

A good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and an evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart. For the mouth speaks what the heart is full of.

Disease infects and spreads, if we permit it to.

Romans 2: 3 – 4 (NIV)

So when you, a mere human being, pass judgment on them and yet do the same things, do you think you will escape God’s judgment? Or do you show contempt for the riches of his kindness, forbearance and patience, not realizing that God’s kindness is intended to lead you to repentance?

So, let us not bind up our children’s hearts with our own folly, believing that we are completely transformed in heart and mind, but keep turning ourselves and them over to God’s cutting conviction and His beautiful healing grace, rather than our punitive and prideful actions, words and tone.

wordswag_1473430859609

And let us be sure to guard the freeing truth God is rooting in their and our own hearts, by continually pouring His Word into and over ourselves and our families, from morning till late.

wordswag_1473434717815

 

Deuteronomy 11: 16 – 21

טז  הִשָּׁמְרוּ לָכֶם, פֶּן יִפְתֶּה לְבַבְכֶם; וְסַרְתֶּם, וַעֲבַדְתֶּם אֱלֹהִים אֲחֵרִים, וְהִשְׁתַּחֲוִיתֶם, לָהֶם. 16 Take heed to yourselves, lest your heart be deceived, and ye turn aside, and serve other gods, and worship them;
יז  וְחָרָה אַף-יְהוָה בָּכֶם, וְעָצַר אֶת-הַשָּׁמַיִם וְלֹא-יִהְיֶה מָטָר, וְהָאֲדָמָה, לֹא תִתֵּן אֶת-יְבוּלָהּ; וַאֲבַדְתֶּם מְהֵרָה, מֵעַל הָאָרֶץ הַטֹּבָה, אֲשֶׁר יְהוָה, נֹתֵן לָכֶם. 17 and the anger of the LORD be kindled against you, and He shut up the heaven, so that there shall be no rain, and the ground shall not yield her fruit; and ye perish quickly from off the good land which the LORD giveth you.
יח  וְשַׂמְתֶּם אֶת-דְּבָרַי אֵלֶּה, עַל-לְבַבְכֶם וְעַל-נַפְשְׁכֶם; וּקְשַׁרְתֶּם אֹתָם לְאוֹת עַל-יֶדְכֶם, וְהָיוּ לְטוֹטָפֹת בֵּין עֵינֵיכֶם. 18 Therefore shall ye lay up these My words in your heart and in your soul; and ye shall bind them for a sign upon your hand, and they shall be for frontlets between your eyes.
יט  וְלִמַּדְתֶּם אֹתָם אֶת-בְּנֵיכֶם, לְדַבֵּר בָּם, בְּשִׁבְתְּךָ בְּבֵיתֶךָ וּבְלֶכְתְּךָ בַדֶּרֶךְ, וּבְשָׁכְבְּךָ וּבְקוּמֶךָ. 19 And ye shall teach them your children, talking of them, when thou sittest in thy house, and when thou walkest by the way, and when thou liest down, and when thou risest up.
כ  וּכְתַבְתָּם עַל-מְזוּזוֹת בֵּיתֶךָ, וּבִשְׁעָרֶיךָ. 20 And thou shalt write them upon the door-posts of thy house, and upon thy gates;
כא  לְמַעַן יִרְבּוּ יְמֵיכֶם, וִימֵי בְנֵיכֶם, עַל הָאֲדָמָה, אֲשֶׁר נִשְׁבַּע יְהוָה לַאֲבֹתֵיכֶם לָתֵת לָהֶם–כִּימֵי הַשָּׁמַיִם, עַל-הָאָרֶץ.  {ס} 21 that your days may be multiplied, and the days of your children, upon the land which the LORD swore unto your fathers to give them, as the days of the heavens above the earth. {S}
16 thoughts on “Healing for the Diseased Heart

  1. Hi, Anna! I don’t think we’ve met yet; I’m Shauna, your neighbour in #55.
    I so love the verse in Isaiah 30:18! That sounds exactly like the heart of the Father toward us!
    “Therefore the Lord waits [expectantly] and longs to be gracious to you,
    And therefore He waits on high to have compassion on you.”
    Have a lovely weekend!

    Like

  2. I love this, Anna and especially these verses!! They are some of my favorite including an “undivided heart.” Love you dear, sister in Christ. Keep pouring out your heart ~it is such a treasure to read. xoxoxo

    Like

  3. Darn that sin we continue to hold onto! I am just so glad that through His grace and faithfulness and word that He still is patiently willing to heal us. Super thankful that He doesnt give up. always enjoy reading your heart. hope you are well friend

    Like

  4. Thank you again for these great truths and Scriptures. Even though (or maybe especially because) my children are adults now, I want to join with you and “keep turning ourselves and them over to God’s cutting conviction and His beautiful healing grace, rather than our punitive and prideful actions, words and tone.” Pondering and praying over these thoughts tonight. –Blessings to you!

    Like

  5. I love the verses you’ve picked out here and it’s a great reminder of how deceitful our hearts are and how much we need God’s grace. It is so easy to be blinded to our sin and not even realise, or to deal with things only on a surface level, but I love that the healing God offers is deep healing for our hearts.

    Like

  6. Anna- I definitely know about holding onto sin and shame from my past. It is like disease, and it can take down our whole body. My problem is I give to God and then I take them back and they re-infect me.
    Vowing to turn them over and never to accept those feelings again!
    Julie

    Like

    1. Oh yes, that is something I’ve been working through since walking through PTSD, when God unearthed so much, and I’m not there yet, for sure..but this now is new, God is helping me to see there are numerous decisions I make in my day where I fail to look with His eyes: looking at my kids’ outward behavior, rather than their heart beneath, which decisions of mine and earlier events in their day have impacted. I’ve been largely blind to it till now, but God has been convicting my heart, showing me I’ve been resting in pride, rather than Him.

      Oh yes: the enemy works hard to saddle us with guilt. I’m so sorry you’re battling this. Praying for you right now.

      Like

  7. Anna. You blow me away this week. May God bless you and give you the widest audience, an audience beyond your wildest imaginings, for you spread truth!

    Like

    1. Thanks for your encouragement, Marie. Faith is a constant transformation and I’m so glad our Savior takes us by the hand and leads us into more and more truth…we cannot do this ourselves.

      Like

Comments are closed.