Give Him Your Not-Enough, All of It!

wordswag_1473622811004

The last few posts, I’ve shared some of what God has been revealing to me through His miracle of feeding the five thousand. Today, I’d like to rest upon this passage:

‘Taking the five loaves and two fish and looking up to heaven, he gave thanks and broke the loaves. Then he gave them to his disciples to set before the people. He also divided all the fish among them all.’ Mark 6: 41

At first I thought of our calling to give thanks in all circumstances, but in sitting with this longer I see something so incredibly beautiful that it alone would encourage us to rejoice in every single situation. I see a little child with his little offering, I see little old Andrew setting the wee boy before Jesus (not minding the probable criticisms from the other disciples, who usually treaded the foreground) and I see Jesus receiving them warmly, looking up at His father and GIVING THANKS for ALL THE NOT-ENOUGH of this offering:

  • the not-enough of a child,
  • the not-enough of a behind the scenes, quiet Andrew, who seeks the child out,
  • the not-enough of the physical gifts (two fish and five loaves for five thousand),
  • the not-enough faith of his disciples  (“This is a remote place…it’s already very late. Send the people away…Are we to go and spend that much on bread and give it to them to eat?” Mark 6: (35 – 37)).

And knowing full well ALL of this not enough they have to offer, our Savior still says, just as He does to us today, “You give them something to eat.” And, just like the disciples and the little boy, you think: “What?! How can I, LORD…

  • I’m not confident enough,
  • I’m not bright enough,
  • I don’t know enough about …,
  • I’ve not experienced enough of …,
  • I’m not good enough at speaking,
  • I’m not good enough at writing,
  • I’m not good enough at … ,
  • I don’t have enough faith,
  • I’m not old enough,
  • I’m too old,
  • I’m not wise enough,
  • I’m not well enough,
  • I’m not healed enough,
  • I’m not strong enough,
  • I’m not happy enough,
  • I’m not quiet enough,
  • I’m not outspoken enough,
  • I’m not rich enough,
  • I’m not sure enough,
  • I’m not beautiful enough,
  • I’m not noticed enough,
  • I’m not liked enough,
  • I don’t have enough followers,
  • I’ve not led a good enough life…
  • No, LORD, surely not me?!!

But Jesus instead says, “Yes, you. ALL of you. ALL of you and your not-enough, every single little piece.” and turns to His Father and “looking up to heaven” gives “thanks” for YOU. And then He takes all of you and your NOT-ENOUGH and breaks it: all your preconceived ideas, all your worries, all your inadequacy, all your fears, all your shame, all your suffering, all your brokenness, all your lack and what does He do?!! He MULTIPLIES your not-enough into MUCH MORE than enough, to feed NOT just one, but a multitude of hungry souls, and even then you are left with a basketfull of more…a basketfull of more to share and gift.

wordswag_1473622435599

So, who are we to hoard our not enough?

Psalm 71: 14 – 16 NIV

But as for me, I shall always have hope; I will praise you more and more. My mouth will tell of your righteousness, of your salvation all day long, though I know not its measure. I will come and proclaim your mighty acts, O Sovereign LORD, I will proclaim your righteousness, yours alone.

 

13 thoughts on “Give Him Your Not-Enough, All of It!

  1. Oh, this line: “So, who are we to hoard our not enough?” brought me to tears. What a convicting but sweet way to hear the Lord speaking to me tonight! Thank you for sharing these words, Anna! –Blessings to you!

    Like

  2. I love how it is a child in this story that has the food to share, and is enough. Another story where we are shown to be like little children, ope to give and receive, not lacking anything.

    Like

  3. I love this, Anna. Thank you for this insight into this story. I’ve always looked at it as a miracle performed that only God can do, but I hadn’t thought of the “not enough” angle. This has really encouraged my heart. Blessings and hugs to you!

    Like

  4. Oh my … to have been in that crowd that day, to be a blessed participant in that miracle, to see food multiplied right in front of you.

    To see Jesus in all His glory.

    Thank you for this post, friend …

    Like

    1. It would have been astounding for sure! But I’m also realizing we just need eyes to see that He’s still doing just as amazing or even more amazing miracles today. I’ve been so encouraged as He’s shown me that this story is there to help us see things afresh with His eyes.

      Like

  5. Anna I absolutely love this!! Why an encouraging and beautiful perspective on an already powerful story. I am so blessed by this and knowing that through Faith and trust in Him we are more than enough. He is so good.

    Thank you for this blessing. Love this and you!!

    Like

  6. This is gold, Anna. I can envision Jesus’ enthusiasm as the boy hands it to Him. And it is a real, genuine enthusiasm! I find myself sometimes feeling a sinking feeling when I don’t have much to give, but here you reminded me I should not think this way. Thank you for sharing this! I am passing this along! Blessings, friend!!!

    Like

Comments are closed.